Grand Prix of Portland
Portland International Raceway
Portland International Raceway - Portland, Oregon
Portland International Raceway
Portland International Raceway
3:00PM ET


About the track

Portland International Raceway

Portland International Raceway opened in 1961 on the former location of the city of Vanport, which was destroyed by the Memorial Day 1948 flood. The 12-turn, 1.964-mile natural road course is relatively flat but contains several spots for passing opportunities, including a quick chicane at the end of the frontstretch, a hard-braking right-hander (Turn 7) leading onto the sweeping backstretch, and a three-turn complex leading back onto the fronstretch. Al Unser Jr. won the first Indy car race in 1984. In 1997, the race set the now current all-time record for the closest two-car and closest three-car finish in Indy car racing history on a road course. Mark Blundell beat second-place Gil de Ferran by 0.027 of a second, and beat third-place Raul Boesel by 0.055 of a second, in a three-wide finish.

Social Media

Twitter: @Portland_GP

Facebook: @PortlandGP

Instagram: @portland_gp

Official Hashtag: #PortlandGP

Past track winners

Will Power 2019
Takuma Sato 2018
Sebastien Bourdais 2007
A.J. Allmendinger 2006
Cristiano da Matta 2005
Sebastien Bourdais 2004
Adrian Fernandez 2003
Cristiano da Matta 2002
Max Papis 2001
Gil de Ferran 2000
Gil de Ferran 1999
Alex Zanardi 1998
Mark Blundell 1997
Alex Zanardi 1996
Al Unser Jr. 1995
Al Unser Jr. 1994
Emerson Fittipaldi 1993
Michael Andretti 1992
Michael Andretti 1991
Michael Andretti 1990
Emerson Fittipaldi 1989
Danny Sullivan 1988
Bobby Rahal 1987
Mario Andretti 1986
Mario Andretti 1985
Al Unser Jr. 1984