Josef Newgarden
Josef  Newgarden
Team Penske
2 Chevrolet USA Road To Indy Graduate
Josef Newgarden
Career stats
Indy Car History
Championships: 1
Astor Cup Trophy
Indy 500 Wins: 0
Total Poles
Race Wins
Dec 22, 1990
Nashville, TN
Charlotte, NC


(About winning a championship for Team Penske in his first year with the team): I certainly dreamed I could come in and win a lot of races and win the championship. But I don’t think I believed that (a championship) was going to happen. It was certainly hard to believe that.


  • Won 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series Championship in his first season with Team Penske.
  • Seven-time Indy car race winner, including a career-best four wins in 2017.
  • His dominating win at Iowa in 2016 set an Indy car record for most laps led by a race winner.
  • Proud graduate of the Mazda Road to Indy, he won the 2011 Indy Lights championship with five race victories.
  • Recipient of 2012 Tony Renna Rising Star Award


  • A versatile athlete, who appeared on a 2016 episode of “American Ninja Warrior” with other Verizon IndyCar Series drivers and has participated in the NFL Combine and the Indiana Pacers Slam Dunk contest. He played baseball and basketball before turning to racing.
  • Listens to R&B and Dance/EDM and is a fan of Twenty One Pilots, The Weeknd, Skrillex and Diplo.
  • Loves fashion. Appearing front row at the Rag & Bone Fashion Show during New York Fashion Week in September 2016; cover model on the March issue of Image & Style magazine and the only model in an eight-page feature in the Spring 2016 issue of Pattern magazine.
  • Spokesperson for the Best Friends Animal Society and featured in its "Show Your Soft Side" campaign, also represents Outrun the Sun, a melanoma and skin cancer awareness organization.
  • Enjoys rock climbing and most outdoor activities; an avid Forza player.


2019 NTT IndyCar Series 1 1 0 1 1 60 1
2018 NTT IndyCar Series 17 3 4 6 14 485 17
2017 NTT IndyCar Series 17 4 1 10 13 390 16
2016 NTT IndyCar Series 16 1 0 6 11 313 13
2015 NTT IndyCar Series 16 2 1 5 9 345 13
2014 NTT IndyCar Series 18 0 0 2 7 20 12
2013 NTT IndyCar Series 19 0 0 4 7 0 16
2012 NTT IndyCar Series 14 0 0 0 0 1 8
Total 118 11 6 34 62 1614 96
2011 Indy Lights 14 5 3 10 13 395 13

RAF = Running at Finish




Facebook Page
First Start
March 25, 2012 (St. Petersburg)
First Win
April 26, 2015 (Barber)
First Pole
July 12, 2015 (Milwaukee)

NTT IndyCar Series Highlights

  • 2017
    • Won 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series Championship for Team Penske, with a series best four wins (Barber, Toronto, Mid-Ohio and Gateway)
    • Earned Verizon P1 Award for season-finale at Sonoma Raceway
    • Led a series high 12 races for 390 laps, including 10 straight races to end the season.
    • Recorded nine podium finishes and 13 top-10 finishes.
  • 2016
    • Finished career-best fourth in the Verizon IndyCar Series standings for Ed Carpenter Racing, winning in dominant fashion at Iowa, a few weeks after breaking his collarbone in a racing accident at Texas.
    • Led four races for 313 laps. His 282 laps led at Iowa were an Indy car record for most laps led.
    • Recorded four podium finishes, including a career-best third at the Indy 500, and 11 top-10 finishes.
  • 2015
    • Scored a breakthrough season for CFH Racing, winning first two Verizon IndyCar Series races (Barber and Toronto) and finishing a career-best seventh in the series point standings
    • Won first career pole at Milwaukee.
    • Led six races for a series-best 345 laps.
    • Recorded five top-five and nine top-10 finishes.
  • 2014
    • Finished season by qualifying in top five for last four races.
    • Tied career-best finish with second place at Iowa.
    • Qualified second for three races (Texas, Mid-Ohio, Sonoma).
    • Finished 13th in Verizon IndyCar Series standings for Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing.
    • Recorded seven top-10 finishes and led four races for total of 20 laps.
  • 2013
    • Finished 14th in point standings for Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing.
    • Recorded four top-five finishes, with a best of second at Baltimore after starting season-high fifth.
    • Was running at the finish in 16 of the 19 races.
  • 2012
    • Finished 14 starts for Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing with best finish of 11th at St. Petersburg after starting 19th.
    • Started second at Long Beach as a result of Chevrolet team penalty.
    • Led first career lap at Auto Club Speedway.

Josef's Road To Indy

  • 2011
    • Won Indy Lights championship for Sam Schmidt Motorsports with five wins (St. Petersburg, Indianapolis, Iowa, Edmonton and New Hampshire).
    • Earned 10 podium finishes in the 14 races.
  • 2010
    • Finished 18th in GP3 for Carlin Motorsport, with best finish of fifth at Monza.
    • Won pole for the event at Hockenheim.
  • 2009
    • Finished second in the MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain with JTR, with nine wins, four poles, 16 podium finishes.
    • Claimed two wins in three Formula Palmer Audi starts at Brands Hatch.
    • Competed in Formula Ford Festival (Duratec Class) and Walter Hayes Trophy.
  • 2008
    • Finished second in Skip Barber National Series for Racer of Tomorrow LTD with three wins, six poles, five podiums and three fastest laps in 14 starts.
    • Awarded Team USA Scholarship and competed in International Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch and Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone, winning Kent Class at International Formula Ford Festival.
    • Competed in IMSA Lites and Skip Barber Regional Series and Canadian Formula Ford 1600 events.
  • 2007
    • Finished sixth in Skip Barber National Series for Racer of Tomorrow LTD with two wins, three poles, four podiums and three fastest laps in 14 starts.
    • Finished second in Skip Barber Southern Regional Series with three wins, three poles and 10 podiums in 12 starts.
  • Early Career
    • Began racing at age 13 at New Castle Motorsports Park in Indiana.
    • Won numerous races and national karting titles including: Kart Racers of America champion in the Tag class in 2008, Kart Racers of America champion in the Junior Yamaha Can 1 class in 2006, Kart Racers of America champion in the Junior Yamaha Can 2 class in 2006 and Touch and Go World Champion in Junior Revised class in 2006.
Team Penske

Team Penske has been racing in the United States since 1966, scoring victories in every series in which it has competed. Team Penske is the most successful Indy car racing team in history with 197 race wins, 15 Indy car national championships and 256 pole positions.

Roger Penske was one of America’s most successful young road racers before he retired from driving in 1965 to focus on his business interests. His team fielded Corvettes in the 1966 endurance races at Daytona and Sebring before joining forces with driver Mark Donohue to race in the U.S. Road Racing Championship and Can-Am sports car series. Team Penske found success early with Donohue, winning consecutive USRRC championships and three SCCA Trans-Am championships.

Penske and Donohue moved into Indy car racing by competing in three USAC-sanctioned road races in 1968. In 1969, the team entered the Indianapolis 500 for the first time and Donohue finished seventh, earning Rookie of the Year honors. Three years later, Donohue earned the first of what has become 16 Indy 500 wins for Penske – more than any other team – including four by Rick Mears and three from Helio Castroneves.

The team enters 2018 with a three-car lineup featuring reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Josef Newgarden, 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series champion Simon Pagenaud, 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series champion Will Power with Castroneves joining the team for races at Indianapolis.

Team Website teampenske.com