Oliver Askew
Oliver  Askew
Arrow McLaren SP
7 Chevrolet USA Sunoco Rookie Road To Indy Graduate
Oliver Askew
Career stats
Indy Car History
Championships: 0
Indy 500 Wins: 0
Total Poles
Race Wins
Dec 12, 1996
Website oliveraskew.com
Jupiter, Florida
Jupiter, Florida


  • 2020 was his rookie NTT INDYCAR SERIES season with Arrow McLaren SP in 2020. 
  • A graduate of the Road to Indy who won the 2019 Indy Lights championship and 2017 USF2000 championship. Also won races in Indy Pro 2000.
  • Won the Team USA Scholarship in 2016, finishing second in the Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone in what was just his seventh race in a car.


  • Interests outside of racing include surfing, cycling, weight training and playing the guitar.
  • Enjoys travelling and visiting new places. His favorite place to visit is Sweden since much of his family on his mother's side lives there.





2020 NTT INDYCAR SERIES 12 0 0 1 3 14 9
Total 12 0 0 1 3 14 9
2019 Indy Lights 18 7 7 17 18 141 17
2018 Indy Pro 2000 16 1 3 9 15 34 15
2017 Cooper Tires USF2000 14 7 8 12 12 160 13

RAF = Running at Finish



Facebook Page
First Start
First Win
First Pole

NTT IndyCar Series

  • 2020
    • Made NTT INDYCAR SERIES debut with Arrow McLaren SP at St. Petersburg.

Oliver's Road To Indy

  • 2019
    • Won Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires championship.
  • 2018
    • Finished third in the Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires with a late-season surge that saw him earn four podiums in the final six races, including his first series victory in the penultimate race of the year.
    • Earned Tilton Hard Charger Award in Portland.
    • Set three new series track records.
    • Swiped three pole positions and set two fastest race laps, and was the only driver to finish all 16 races and complete every lap of the season (492).
  • 2017
    • Won a close battle with Rinus VeeKay for the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship, earning his second Mazda Scholarship after winning the Mazda Road to Indy USF2000 $200K Scholarship Shootout in 2016.
    • Was the Hyperco Rookie of the Year
    • Earned seven victories, including wins in six of the first seven races
    • Took eight pole positions and 13 podium finishes in 16 races
    • Set four new track records.
  • 2016
    • Won Mazda Road to Indy USF2000 $200K Scholarship Shootout at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca which earned him a ride in the 2017 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship.
    • Was Team USA Scholarship recipient, finishing second in the Walter Hayes Trophy Grand Final at Silverstone, England.
    • Finished on the podium in two of three races at Brands Hatch.
    • Claimed Florida Winter Tour Championship (Sr. Karting).
  • 2015
    • Earned U.S. Open Senior MAX Championship.
    • Scored European BNL Rotax Challenge Senior MAX Championship.
    • Made car racing debut in the Formula Masters China Series earning four top-10 finishes in six races.
  • 2014
    • Won Florida Winter Tour Rotax MAX Challenge Senior MAX Championship.
    • Was member of Team USA at the Rotax MAX Challenge Grand Finals in Spain.
  • 2013
    • Won Rotax MAX Challenge Senior MAX National Championship.
    • Earned the Rotax MAX Challenge Pan-American Senior MAX Championship.
    • Took third place in Senior MAX at the Rotax MAX Challenge Grand Finals in New Orleans.
  • 2012
    • Won Florida Winter Tour Rotax MAX Challenge Junior championship.
    • Was member of Team USA at the Rotax MAX Challenge Grand Finals in Portugal.
  • 2011
    • Won Florida Winter Tour Rotax Junior title.
    • Represented United States at the Rotax MAX Challenge Grand Finals in the United Arab Emirates.
  • Early Career
    • Began karting at age 7 in 2003.
Arrow McLaren SP

The name Arrow McLaren SP marks a new chapter as two determined racing entities – McLaren Racing and Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports – join forces with the combined goal to challenge for INDYCAR championships and race wins. That ambition is shared and supported by title partner, Arrow Electronics.

Sam Schmidt set up a race team just 14 months after suffering serious injuries in a testing accident. As Sam Schmidt Motorsports, the team started out in 2001 with the aim of fighting for wins and championships. There were no shortcuts to success but step-by-step we achieved multiple victories and seven titles at the Indy Lights level.

Following the arrival of Ric Peterson as co-owner in 2013, our development continued at IndyCar level, with seven victories and a further 28 podiums registered since then.

Now we enter the next stage of the journey, as Arrow SPM joins forces with McLaren Racing to form Arrow McLaren SP.

What ties us together is a racer’s spirit and a fierce determination and will to overcome adversity in pursuit of achievement, typified by Sam’s journey and the example of a young Bruce McLaren. In the 1960s, the young New Zealander fearlessly moved from his humble home surroundings to Europe in search of racing success, and duly became the youngest grand prix winner at age 22.

At the heart of Arrow McLaren SP is a shared ambition: to race and to win. For our people, our partners, our fans and for our sport.

That common goal provides the perfect platform for our future as Arrow McLaren SP: the combination of Arrow SPM’s experience and knowledge of modern-day IndyCar racing, strengthened by McLaren Racing’s resources and drive to always move fearlessly forward with Arrow’s technology solutions.

It’s a blend that we have to have in order to achieve our common goals of wins and titles. We come with ambition and humility in equal measure, fully aware of the strength of our opposition, and with total respect for the test the IndyCar Series provides.

And while our people want to overcome those challenges on the track, we also aim to benefit our partners and the whole sport off it. It’s a journey we will embark on with our fans, bringing new ones to the series as we strive to grow not only a racing team but motorsport globally.

Team Website arrowmclarensp.com/